Bangladesh

Every year, between 300,000 and 400,000 people from rural regions, mostly very poor women, arrive in Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh, in search of a better life.

They look for work in the textile industry, an important part of Bangladesh's economy. Clothes manufacturing represents 76% of the country's total export revenue. Thanks to this industry, women's status and incomes have increased to a remarkable degree, but this has come at a price. Women are forced to live in shanty towns and have to deal with many problems: poor working and housing conditions, violence, and a lack of access to healthcare. Many of them lose their jobs when they have children, because there are no families or day-care centres to look after their children while they are at work. Their children grow up in an environment of general insecurity, with very poor hygiene conditions and a lack of food.

Because the city of Dhaka is not equipped to deal with this huge demographic increase, shanty towns have developed. Inhabitants are forced to live in insanitary homes and in extremely poor conditions. Because shanty towns are generally illegal settlements, the infrastructures (electricity, running water, sewage disposal, transport, education and health) operated by private companies are very expensive. Families are often scattered, and aid and survival networks based on personal relationships between people are broken. In addition, shanty towns are often dangerous places that drive the population to criminality, drugs and prostitution. For people who live in shanty towns, textile factories offer the workers an alternative to improve their living conditions. 

But in the textile industry, conditions are so hard that workers only work in the industry for 12 years on average. The company managers place enormous pressure on the workers, in order to ensure that orders are fulfilled within the required time limits. Hence, there are frequently no breaks at all. As well as health risks, there are also safety risks, even though the situation has improved markedly since the collapse of Rana Plaza on 24 April 2013, in which 1,100 workers were killed. Conditions are extremely hard, but people say that they are happy to have a job which, at 6,000 Taka per month (around 70 €), is much better paid than other jobs, such as domestic work.

And what about the children?

In order to fulfil their family's basic needs, both parents need to go to work. In some cases, women are left on their own with their children, and the pressure is even greater. In any case, the head of the family is torn between two harmful options: either go to work in the large textile production factories and leave their children on their own during the day, or give up the possibility of an income, which will plunge them deeper into extreme poverty. All too often, children of pre-school age are the losers in this desperate situation. They grow up in deprivation and are left unaccompanied by adults for long periods, with a very high risk of abuse or accidents. Children do not receive any stimulation. In many cases, older sisters have to stay at home with younger children, or even go to work themselves in order to increase the household income. In this case, the older children miss out on their own education, work in abusive conditions and are at risk of never escaping the vicious cycle of poverty. This is why childcare options for the youngest children are essential.

So what is the solution? Day nurseries!

Caritas Luxembourg supports the establishment of day nurseries for children aged 1 to 5 years. The aim is to ensure children's physical, emotional, cognitive and social development, and to improve the sanitary and hygiene conditions and social security of 900 households. There are already ten day nurseries for 200 children, running with the participation of the local community. The day nursery staff members are recruited directly from this local community. In addition, 54 day nurseries at women's homes have also opened their doors, welcoming an extra 270 children. The staff members receive training. In addition, women receive information and advice about the care and protection that children need, and about their physical and mental development and nutrition.

The sustainability of the project and the improvement of the day-to-day life of families are underpinned by training provided to the project beneficiaries who progressively take responsibility for the day nurseries and ensure their funding. Furthermore, the project encourages unemployed women to create their own day nurseries in their homes, so that they can earn an income while offering childcare to other families.

Companies in the textile industry that employ more than 50 people are obliged by law to implement a nursery system for their staff's children. Through awareness-raising and advocacy actions, factory managers are made aware that they need to fulfil their obligations and replicate this day nursery model. For example, the factories working for the clothing chain ZARA, among others, have started to fulfil their responsibilities with respect to their employees and their families, which already represents progress.  

Decent Work for Migrants

Because of the significant number of people in Bangladesh who migrate within the country or abroad with a view to improving their living conditions, Caritas Luxembourg informs potential migrants about their rights and makes them aware of the risks to which they are exposing themselves, particularly through awareness-raising campaigns, information offices and a telephone assistance service. Likewise, women who wish to travel abroad to work as domestic servants receive training to teach them about their rights and obligations, and they are also given language tuition. This preventative work is supplemented by follow-up work and social and economic reintegration of migrants when they return. Psycho-social and legal support is also offered. 

Food security in times of climate change

Bangladesh is one of the countries in the world where the population is most affected by climate change. One third of the population is at risk of displacement due to rising sea levels. Floods are increasingly frequent and very devastating. At the same time, many people are suffering from water stress caused by climate change. In Bangladesh, the demand for water already exceeds the available resources. The productivity of rain-fed agriculture, which depends on rainfall for its water supply, is falling. For a country with a growing population, this means that it will soon be difficult to feed everyone.

It is in these highly rain-dependent regions, which are extremely sensitive to rainfall variability, late monsoon onset, temperature fluctuations and drought, that Caritas Luxembourg is intervening by helping small farmers. Indeed, whether they are severely affected by climate change or not, small farmers manage to resist the phenomenon through many local practices that are specific to them. By bringing these small farmers together, the SAFBIN project, in which Caritas Luxembourg participates with other European and Asian organisations, relies on small farmers' collectives to strengthen each other and become more resilient in the face of climatic hazards.

To find out more about this support, visit the SAFBIN consortium website.

People who wish to support Caritas projects in Bangladesh - and more broadly all the activities of Caritas Luxembourg - can do so by making a donation by transfer to the account (CCPL) IBAN LU34 1111 0000 2020 0000 or directly below.

Be the first one informed about our projects and activities.
Subscribe to Caritas eNews!

Be the first one informed about our projects and activities. Subscribe to Caritas eNews!

Caritas Luxembourg will use the information provided on this form only to send you Caritas eNews.

Bangladesh

Chaque année, entre 300.000 et 400.000 personnes de régions rurales, dont la plupart des femmes très pauvres, arrivent à Dhaka, capitale du Bangladesh en quête d’une vie meilleure.

Elles recherchent du travail dans l’industrie textile, volet important de l’économie du Bangladesh. La manufacture de vêtements y représente 76% des revenus totaux des exports nationaux. Grâce à cette industrie, le statut et le revenu des femmes ont augmenté de manière remarquable, mais avec un prix à payer : les femmes sont forcées de vivre dans les bidonvilles et doivent faire face à de nombreux problèmes : mauvaises conditions de travail et de logement, violences, pas d’accès aux soins de santé. Beaucoup d’elles perdent leur emploi lors de la naissance d’un enfant, parce qu’il n’y a pas de familles ou de garderies qui pourraient s’occuper des enfants lorsqu'elles sont au travail. Les enfants grandissent dans un contexte d’insécurité généralisée, avec des conditions d’hygiène très mauvaises et un manque de nourriture.

Comme la ville de Dhaka n’est pas en mesure de faire face à cette énorme croissance démographique, des bidonvilles se créent. Les habitants sont forcés de vivre dans des logements insalubres et dans des conditions extrêmement pauvres. Comme les bidonvilles sont généralement des implantations illégales, les infrastructures (électricité, eau courante, évacuation des eaux usées, transports, éducation, santé) mises en place par des entreprises privées sont très chères. Les familles sont souvent dispersées, les réseaux d’aide et de survie fondés sur les relations personnelles entre les gens se retrouvent cassées. En plus, les bidonvilles sont souvent des lieux dangereux qui entraînent la population vers la criminalité, la drogue et la prostitution. Pour les habitants des bidonvilles, les usines textiles offrent aux travailleurs une alternative pour améliorer leurs conditions d’existence.

Mais dans l’industrie textile, les conditions sont tellement dures que les travailleurs n’y travaillent en moyenne que 12 ans. La pression exercée sur les travailleurs par les dirigeants des entreprises est énorme afin d’assurer que les commandes soient honorées dans les délais requis. Ainsi, les pauses sont souvent inexistantes. Aux risques de santé s’ajoutent des risques de sécurité, même si la situation s’est nettement améliorée après l’effondrement de Rana Plaza le 24 avril 2013 et dans lequel 1.100 travailleurs avaient été tués. Les conditions sont extrêmement dures mais les gens se disent heureux d’avoir un travail, qui, comparé à d’autres - comme le travail domestique - paye beaucoup plus, soit 6.000 Taka par mois ( environ 70 €).

Et les enfants?

Afin de pouvoir satisfaire les besoins élémentaires d’une famille, les deux parents doivent aller travailler. Dans d'autres cas, les femmes se trouvent seules avec leurs enfants et la pression est encore plus grande. De toute manière, le chef de famille est tiraillé entre deux choix néfastes : aller travailler dans les grande usines de production textile et laisser seuls ses enfants pendant la journée, ou bien renoncer à la possibilité d’avoir un revenu et ainsi plonger davantage dans une pauvreté extrême. Trop souvent, les enfants en âge préscolaire sont les perdants de cette situation désespérée. Ils grandissent dans la précarité, sans l'accompagnement d’un adulte pendant de longues heures, avec un risque d’abus ou d’accident très élevé. Les enfants ne reçoivent aucune stimulation. Souvent, ce sont les sœurs aînées qui sont obligées de rester à la maison avec les enfants plus petits ou bien d’aller travailler elles-mêmes pour augmenter le revenu du ménage. Dans ce cas les enfants aînés ratent leur propre éducation, travaillent dans des conditions abusives et risquent de ne jamais s’enfuir du cercle vicieux de la pauvreté. C’est pourquoi des possibilités de garde pour les plus jeunes enfants sont essentielles !

La solution? Des crèches!

Caritas Luxembourg soutient la mise en place de crèches pour les enfants de 1 à 5 ans. Le but est d’assurer le développement physique, émotionnel, cognitif et social des enfants et d’améliorer ainsi la situation sanitaire, d’hygiène et la sécurité sociale de 900 ménages. Dix crèches pour 200 enfants existent déjà, avec la participation de la communauté locale. Le personnel des crèches est directement recruté parmi cette communauté locale. 54 garderies au domicile de femmes ont également ouverts leurs portes, pour un accueil supplémentaire de 270 enfants. Le personnel bénéficie d’une formation. De plus, les femmes sont sensibilisées sur les soins à donner aux enfants, sur la protection dont ils doivent bénéficier, sur leur croissance physique et mentale ainsi que sur leur nutrition. Le matériel pédagogique nécessaire est mis à disposition.

La durabilité du projet et l’amélioration de la situation des familles sont garanties par le fait que les bénéficiaires reçoivent des formations et reprennent progressivement la responsabilité et le financement des crèches. En outre, le projet encourage les femmes sans emploi à créer leur propre crèche dans leur foyer , afin d'avoir un revenu tout en offrant à d’autres familles la possibilité de faire garder leurs enfants.

Les entreprises de l’industrie textile employant plus de 50 personnes sont forcées par la loi à mettre en place un système de garderie pour les enfants de leur personnel. A travers des actions de sensibilisation et de plaidoyer, les chefs d’usines sont sensibilisés à remplir leurs obligations et à répliquer ce modèle de garderie. Les usines travaillant en partie pour la chaîne de vêtements ZARA par exemple ont commencé à assumer leurs responsabilités vis-à-vis des employés et de leurs familles, ce qui représente déjà un progrès.  

Un travail décent pour les migrants

Etant donné le nombre important de personnes qui, au Bangladesh, migrent à l'intérieur du pays ou à l'étranger dans le but d'améliorer leurs conditions de vie, Caritas Luxembourg informe les potentiels migrants de leurs droits et les conscientise sur les risques auxquels ils s'exposent, notamment via des campagnes de sensibilisation, des bureaux d'information et un service d'aide téléphonique. Les femmes qui souhaitent partir travailler comme domestiques à l'étranger reçoivent également des formations sur leurs droits et leurs obligations, ainsi que des cours de langue. Ce travail préventif est complété par le suivi et la réintégration sociale et économique des migrants lors de leur retour. Un soutien psycho-social et juridique est également offert. 

La sécurité alimentaire en temps de changements climatiques

Le Bangladesh est un des pays au monde où la population est le plus touchée par les changements climatiques. Un tiers de la population risque d'être déplacée en raison de l'élévation du niveau de la mer. Les inondations y sont de plus en plus fréquentes et très dévastatrices. En même temps, nombreuses sont les personnes qui souffrent du stress hydrique causé par le changement climatique. Au Bangladesh, la demande en eau dépasse déjà les ressources disponibles. Le rendement de l'agriculture pluviale, qui dépend des précipitations pour son approvisionnement en eau, est en pleine chute. Pour un pays avec une population croissante, cela signifie qu’il sera bientôt difficile de nourrir tout le monde.

C’est dans ces régions fortement dépendantes des pluies et extrêmement sensibles à la variabilité des précipitations, au début tardif de la mousson, aux fluctuations de température et à la sécheresse, que Caritas Luxembourg intervient en aidant les petits fermiers. En effet, qu’ils soient durement touchés par le changement climatique, ces derniers réussissent à résister au phénomène à travers de nombreuses pratiques locales qui leur sont propres. En rassemblant ces petits fermiers, le projet SAFBIN, auquel Caritas Luxembourg participe avec d’autres organisations européennes et asiatiques, mise sur les collectifs de petits exploitants agricoles pour se renforcer mutuellement et devenir plus résistants face aux aléas climatiques.

Pour en savoir plus sur cette aide, visitez le site Internet du consortium SAFBIN.

Les personnes qui souhaitent soutenir les projets de Caritas au Bangladesh -et plus largement toutes les activités de Caritas Luxembourg - peuvent le faire en faisant un don par virement sur le compte (CCPL) IBAN LU34 1111 0000 2020 0000 ou directement ci-dessous.

Pour être sûr(e) de toujours être au courant de nos activités,
abonnez-vous à notre newsletter !

Pour être toujours au courant de nos actualités, abonnez-vous à Caritas eNews

Caritas Luxembourg utilisera les informations fournies sur ce formulaire seulement pour vous transmettre Caritas eNews.