Résidence intergénérationnelle de Beggen

Although the poverty rate among the elderly is very low in Luxembourg, some elderly people have very modest incomes, especially those who have lived in centres and supportive housing as a result of multiple problems.

These people are vulnerable not only because of their material circumstances, but also because they often live in isolation. On the other hand, there are numerous students, many of whom come from abroad, some who may be feeling far from home, who struggle to pay rent for accommodation.

The Caritas Luxembourg project involves bringing elderly people and students together to live under one roof, so that they can support each other.

What does this look like?

This mixed home, called "intergenerational" residence for elderly people and students, is a building of 2,000 m2 built by Caritas Luxembourg in Beggen (Luxembourg City). It consists of ten small flats of approximately 45 m2 for elderly people with modest incomes, 12 student bedrooms of approximately 15 m2 with a communal kitchen and living room, shared access spaces and a multi-purpose common room where people can meet. There is also a flat for a family with a modest income that takes care of minor jobs, and functional spaces such as a workshop, treatment room, garden, etc.

What makes this an innovative project?

The innovative aspect is that the life of elderly people and students is organised in such a way that everyone can appreciate the advantages and can experience living in a community in a positive light. In return for a very modest rent, students undertake to carry out small tasks for people with diminished independence, such as providing assistance with mobility, support with shopping, administrative support, minor repairs, etc.

The collaboration with the association LISEL - Lieu d’Initiatives et de Services des Etudiants au Luxembourg (Student Initiatives and Services in Luxembourg) ensures that the student flats are continuously occupied.

How is the project funded?

The total construction budget amounts to 3.5 million euros (including tax), 75% of which is funded by the Ministry of Housing, with the remaining 25% covered by our own funds. People have been living in the home since February 2017.

A project conducted with the support of:

Contact

Marco Hoffmann

Tel.: +352 40 21 31 - 231, marco.hoffmann@caritas.lu

Be the first one informed about our projects and activities.
Subscribe to Caritas eNews!

Be the first one informed about our projects and activities. Subscribe to Caritas eNews!

Résidence intergénérationnelle de Beggen

Au Luxembourg, si le taux de pauvreté des personnes âgées est très bas, il existe des personnes âgées à revenus très modestes, notamment celles qui ont vécu dans des foyers et des logements accompagnés suite à des problèmes multiples.

Ces personnes sont fragilisées, non seulement à cause de leur situation matérielle, mais également parce qu’elles vivent souvent des situations d’isolement. De l’autre côté, nombreux sont les étudiants, souvent d’origine étrangère, certains dépaysés, qui peinent à financer le loyer pour un logement.

Le projet de Caritas Luxembourg est de faire vivre personnes âgées et étudiants sous un même toit, afin de leur permettre de se soutenir mutuellement.

Comment est-ce que cela se présente-il ?

Cette résidence mixte, dite « intergénérationnelle » pour personnes âgées et étudiants est une résidence de 2.000 m2, construite par Caritas Luxembourg à Beggen (Luxembourg-Ville) avec un bail emphytéotique sur un terrain accordé par la Ville de Luxembourg. Elle comprend une dizaine de petits appartements d’environ 45m2 pour personnes âgées à revenu modeste, 12 chambres d’étudiants d’environ 15m2 avec cuisine et living communs, des espaces de circulation et une salle commune polyvalente permettant de se rencontrer, un appartement pour une famille de concierges à revenu modéré s’occupant de petits travaux, ainsi que des espaces fonctionnels comme un atelier, une salle de soins, un jardin, etc.

Quelle est l’innovation ?

L’innovation consiste à organiser la vie en commun des personnes âgées et des
étudiants de telle manière à ce que chacun y voit des avantages et que le voisinage soit vécu positivement. En contrepartie d’un loyer très modéré, les étudiants s’engagent à offrir des petits services aux personnes en perte d’autonomie comme l’aide à la mobilité, le soutien pour les courses, le soutien administratif, de petites réparation, etc.

La collaboration avec l’association LISEL (Lieu d’Initiatives et de Services des Etudiants au Luxembourg) permet de garantir une continuité dans l’occupation des logements d’étudiants.

Financement du projet?

Le budget total de la construction s’élève à 3,5 millions d’euros (TTC) financés à 75% par le Ministère du Logement et à 25% par des fonds propres. Depuis février 2017, la résidence est habitée.

Un projet mené avec le soutien de:

Contact

Marco Hoffmann

Tél.: +352 40 21 31 - 231, marco.hoffmann@caritas.lu

 

Pour être sûr(e) de toujours être au courant de nos activités,
abonnez-vous à notre newsletter !

Pour être toujours au courant de nos actualités, abonnez-vous à Caritas eNews