This project, launched in 2017 by Caritas Luxembourg, Reech eng Hand and CVX, with the support of the Oeuvre Nationale de Secours Grande-Duchesse Charlotte, aims to support applicants for international protection (IPR) affected by the Dublin Regulation and accommodated at the SHUK (Structure d'Hébergement Urgent à Kirchberg). It is particularly aimed at young adults and the most vulnerable and traumatised among them and offers them psychosocial support and guidance at all levels.

The project, which started in December 2017, takes place both at the SHUK in Kirchberg and in a space dedicated exclusively to the welcoming of people affected by the Dublin Regulation. This space, called Carvansara Ubuntu, is a place where people can meet and catch their breath, thanks to the active listening of the volunteers providing the welcome and the mutual respect that reigns among all. Psychosocial and psychotherapeutic support is offered by a professional in the form of individual counselling and narrative exposure therapy. Sports and socio-cultural activities are also regularly organized outside.    

Objectives

The objectives of the project are to improve access to information for people affected by the Dublin Regulation, to strengthen their resilience, their ability to make informed choices for their future and to improve their quality of life by providing them with a space for resourcing and constructive activities.

People are continuously sensitized both at the SHUK and at the Carvansara Ubuntu on issues related to their psychosocial well-being and referred to the "Accueil Social" service of Caritas Luxembourg where they are informed about the legal framework that regulates their situation. 

The people are also put in contact with humanitarian actors in the countries responsible for taking back the so-called "dublined" people, whom the project aims to network.  

Some beneficiaries who have undergone particularly traumatic events or whose exodus has already been going on for a while, are invited to draw up a diary detailing the story of their lives through a therapeutic approach called "narrative exposure therapy".  

A DOZEN VOLUNTEERS LISTENING

To ensure a good welcoming, the team of about ten volunteers is trained, supervised and monitored on an ongoing basis. This helps to create and maintain a welcoming atmosphere and a benevolent ear within the Carvansara Ubuntu.

Awareness raising through research and publication of articles is done through the participation of university students.

Contact:

Ndzebir Andrew Vernyuy

andrew.ndzebir@caritas.lu  

Tel.: +352 691 690 365 

With the support of:

Be the first one informed about our projects and activities. Subscribe to Caritas eNews!

Caritas Luxembourg will use the information provided on this form only to send you Caritas eNews.

Ce projet, lancé en 2017 par Caritas Luxembourg, Reech eng Hand et CVX, avec le soutien de l'Oeuvre Nationale de Secours Grande-Duchesse Charlotte, a pour objectif de soutenir les demandeurs de protection internationale (DPI) touchés par le règlement de Dublin et hébergés à la SHUK (Structure d’Hébergement Urgent à Kirchberg). Il vise tout particulièrement les jeunes adultes et les plus vulnérables et traumatisés parmi eux et leur propose du soutien psychosocial et un accompagnement à tous les niveaux.

Le projet qui a débuté en décembre 2017 se déroule à la fois à la SHUK au Kirchberg et dans un local dédié exclusivement à l'accueil des personnes touchées par le règlement de Dublin. Ce local, appelé Carvansara Ubuntu est un lieu où les personnes peuvent se rencontrer et reprendre du souffle, et ce grâce à l'écoute active des bénévoles assurant l’accueil et au respect mutuel qui y règne entre tous. Un soutien psychosocial et psychothérapeutique est offert par un professionnel sous forme de counseling individuel et d'exposition à la narration. Des activités sportives et socio-culturelles sont également organisées régulièrement à l’extérieur.    

Objectifs

Le projet a pour objectifs d'améliorer l’accès à l’information des personnes concernées par le règlement de Dublin, de renforcer leur résilience, leur capacité à prendre des choix éclairés pour leur avenir et d’améliorer leur qualité de vie en leur offrant un espace de ressourcement et des activités constructives.

Les personnes sont sensibilisées de manière continue tant à la SHUK qu’au Carvansara Ubuntu sur les thématiques liées à leur bien être psychosocial et orientées vers le service "Accueil Social" de Caritas Luxembourg où elles sont informées sur le cadre légal qui régit leur situation. 

Les personnes sont également mises en contact avec les acteurs humanitaires des pays responsables de la reprise des personnes dites « dublinées » et que le projet vise à mettre en réseau.  

Certains bénéficiaires qui ont subi des événements particulièrement traumatisants ou dont l’exode dure déjà depuis un certain temps, sont invités à établir un journal détaillant le récit de leurs vies à travers une approche thérapeutique appelée « exposition à la narration ».  

Une dizaine de bénévoles à l'écoute

Pour assurer un bon accueil, l’équipe d’une dizaine de bénévoles est formée, encadrée et supervisée de manière continue. Cela permet de créer et d’entretenir une atmosphère accueillante et une écoute bienveillante au sein du Carvansara Ubuntu.

La sensibilisation à travers la recherche et la publication d’articles est faite grâce à la participation d’étudiants universitaires.

Contact:

Ndzebir Andrew Vernyuy

andrew.ndzebir@caritas.lu  

Tel.: +352 691 690 365 

Avec le soutien de:

Pour être toujours au courant de nos actualités, abonnez-vous à Caritas eNews

Caritas Luxembourg utilisera les informations fournies sur ce formulaire seulement pour vous transmettre Caritas eNews.